Cloud Computing

Using web-based tools to work more efficiently and effectively and lower costs.

What is Cloud Computing?

Cloud computing refers to a new way of using the Internet to store data, run software, and access computing power. Cloud computing is revolutionizing the way the technology sector packages, sells, and distributes products and services, and is dramatically changing the way organizations approach their information and communication technology. Instead of storing all files and running all programs on your own computer, Cloud Computing allows you to store files and run programs on powerful server computers that you can control and access over the Internet.

Innoweave Introduction to Cloud Computing Webinar from J.W. McConnell Family Foundation on Vimeo.

You may already be familiar with common cloud computing solutions such as web-based email, shared calendars such as Google Calendar; file management applications such as Dropbox, Box, or SkyDrive; web-based CRMs such as Salesforce or Insightly; and image storage and sharing services such as Flickr or Picasa. The Innoweave Cloud Computing module helps community organizations understand, select, and implement cloud-based technology solutions that enable them to work more efficiently and effectively while lowering costs.

What are the benefits of Cloud Computing?

Transitioning to cloud computing permits staff to access documents remotely, track interactions with contacts, and manage email accounts and calendars from anywhere and with multiple devices. It can also save organizations time and money, as the cost of software upgrades, data storage, and network monitoring is often taken-on by cloud-based tool providers.

Content for this module has been developed by Grantbook.

Close

Infolettre

Infonuagique

Utiliser des applications web pour travailler avec plus d’efficacité et d’efficience et réduire les coûts.

Qu’est-ce que l’infonuagique?

L’infonuagique est une nouvelle façon d’utiliser Internet pour stocker des données, exploiter un logiciel et traiter de l'information. L’infonuagique est en train de révolutionner l’offre de produits et services dans le secteur technologique, leur vente et leur distribution, en plus de changer radicalement la façon dont les organismes abordent l’information et les technologies des communications à l’interne. Plutôt que de stocker tous les dossiers et d’exploiter tous les programmes sur votre ordinateur, l’infonuagique permet de stocker des dossiers et d’exploiter des programmes sur de puissants serveurs informatiques que vous pouvez contrôler et auxquels vous accédez sur Internet.

Vous connaissez peut-être déjà des solutions infonuagiques courantes : courriel web et agenda partagé tel que l’agenda Google; applications de gestion des dossiers telles que Dropbox, Box ou SkyDrive; applications de gestion client (CRM) telles que Salesforce ou Insightly; stockage des images et services de partage tels que Flickr ou Picasa. Le module Infonuagique d’Innoweave aide les organismes communautaires à comprendre, choisir et appliquer des solutions technologiques infonuagiques pour travailler avec plus d’efficience et d’efficacité, à moindre coût.

Quels sont les avantages de l’infonuagique?

En passant à l’infonuagique, votre équipe peut accéder aux documents à distance, suivre les interactions avec les partenaires et gérer des comptes de courriel et des agendas depuis n’importe où, à partir de plusieurs dispositifs. Les organismes peuvent aussi économiser temps et argent puisque les fournisseurs de services infonuagiques assument souvent les coûts de mise à jour des logiciels, du stockage des données et de la surveillance de réseau.

Le contenu de ce module a été élaboré par: