Close

Newsletter

Case Studies

Spotlight on Innoweave Social Enterprise Projects

The organizations in this table have recently completed projects with an Innoweave Social Enterprise coach.

Product and Market Direct Impact
    Lake Ontario Waterkeeper | Toronto, ON
Defined a business model for The Swim Guide, a smartphone app that provides families with up-to-date safety information on local beaches, while showcasing environmentally-conscious brands who support the guide’s day-to-day operations. By providing current water quality data to beach goers, The Swim Guide prevents thousands of water borne illnesses each year, generates public support for beach protection and promotes a green economy.
    Rifssso | Toronto, ON
Developed the Organizational Diagnosis Centre which provides tools, consultations, and governance support for francophone and anglophone socio-community and health organizations. Through the consultations and resources offered by the Organizational Diagnosis Centre, individual skills within organizations that serve Francophones in Ontario are enhanced, contributing to higher quality French language services in Ontario and Canada.
   SIRCH Community Services | Haliburton, ON
Completed a feasibility study and business plan for the Need a Hand program, which offers a variety of services including repairs and maintenance service, small construction, and cottage coverage/checks to local residents and organizations. Need a Hand offers employment and training opportunities to low-income or unemployed workers, while providing much-needed services to local senior citizens, including small repairs and construction services.
   H.A.V.E. Culinary Training | Vancouver, BC
H.A.V.E. Culinary Training is dedicated to developing job and life skills of its students. Students are selected based on need and put through an 8-week culinary training curriculum. Students prepare the meals served to H.A.V.E.  Over the past 5 years, H.A.V.E. has successfully trained over 500 students, 75% of whom have gained steady employment in the tourism and hospitality industry. 

 

Case Studies

The following case studies describe how different nonprofit organizations have launched social enterprises to meet needs in their community, advance missions, and contribute to their financial sustainability. Please click on the links below to learn more.

  • The Nature Academy

    The Nature Academy is a professional development program that gives teachers the skills, support, and knowledge that they need in order to integrate environmental education into regular curricula. Read more...

  • John Howard Society of Hamilton, Burlington & Area

    Princess Alexander, an Innoweave Social Enterprise coach, sat down with Dave Stam, Manager of Youth Services, John Howard Society of Hamilton, Burlington & Area (JHS) to discuss how they are leveraging years of knowledge and expertise gained through community programming to develop a new model for preventing conflict and dispute resolution using the social enterprise model. We follow Princess and Dave’s conversation, which touches on four considerations for organizations interested in social enterprise, including leadership, best practices, strategy and governance approaches. Read more...

  • Lake Ontario Waterkeeper

    Lake Ontario Waterkeeper worked with Innoweave to determine potential (and most viable) revenue streams that could would help fund its Swim Guide social enterprise. They also worked with an Innoweave coach to determine potential partnership and client opportunities that could be leveraged more effectively, and the resources required to launch and maintain the new business model. Read more...

For more social enterprise examples, visit enp’s Social Enterprise Stories and Profiles.

Close

Infolettre

Études de cas

Lumière sur des projets d'entreprise sociale avec Innoweave

Les organismes dans ce tableau ont récemment complété des projets avec un mentor Innoweave en entreprise sociale. 

Produit et marché Impact direct
    Lake Ontario Waterkeeper | Toronto, ON
Ont défini un modèle pour leur “The Swim Guide”, une application pour téléphone intelligent qui offre aux familles l’information la plus à jour sur les plages locales, tout en faisant la promotion de marques soucieuses de l’environnement qui soutiennent le guide. En fournissant des données actuelles sur la qualité de l’eau aux adeptes des plages, le “Swim Guide” empêche des milliers de maladies hydriques chaque année, génère le soutien du public pour la protection de la plage et la promotion d'une économie verte.
    Rifssso | Toronto, ON
Ont développé le Centre de diagnostic organisationnel qui offre des outils, de la consultation et du soutien en gouvernance pour les organismes socio-communautaires et de santé francophones et anglophones. À travers les consultations et les ressources offertes par le Centre de diagnostic organisationnel, les capacités individuelles au sein des organismes desservant les francophones en Ontario sont améliorées, contribuant ainsi à un niveau de services en langue française rehaussé pour l’Ontario et le Canada. 
   SIRCH Community Services | Haliburton, ON
Ont complété une étude de faisabilité et un plan d’affaires pour le programme “Need a Hand”, qui offre une variété de services incluant des services de maintenance et de réparation, de petites constructions, et des vérifications de toitures de chalets pour les résidents locaux et les organisations de la communauté.  Need a Hand" offre des opportunités d’emploi et de formation pour des personnes à faible revenu ou sans emploi, tout en offrant des services fort en demande auprès des aînés de la communauté, incluant de menus travaux et des services en construction.
   H.A.V.E Culinary Training | Vancouver, C.-B.
"H.A.V.E. Culinary Training" (H.A.V.E. Formation Culinaire) est une entreprise sociale du quartier "downtown eastside" de Vancouver qui se consacre à développer les compétences de vie et professionnelles de ses étudiants. Les étudiants sont sélectionnés sur la base de leurs besoins et sont ensuite placés dans une formation culinaire de 8 semaines.  Au cours des 5 dernières années, H.A.V.E a reçu 500 étudiants, dont 75% ont trouvé un emploi stable dans l'industrie du tourisme et de l'hôtellerie.

 

Études de cas

Les études de cas suivantes décrivent de quelle maniere ces organismes à but non lucratif ont mis sur pied une entreprise sociale pour répondre à un besoin de leur communauté et poursuivre leur mission tout en contribuant à leur stabilité financière. Cliquez sur les liens plus bas pour en apprendre davantage sur chaque exemple.

  • The Nature Academy

    "The Nature Academy" est un programme de développement professionnel qui donne aux professeurs les aptitudes, le support et la connaissance dont ils ont besoin pour pouvoir intégrer l'éducation à l'environnement au sein du curriculum régulier. Pour en savoir plus (En)...

  • John Howard Society of Hamilton, Burlington & Area

    La semaine dernière nous partagions le début d’une conversation qui a eu lieu entre Princess Alexander, une mentor d’Innoweave en Entreprise sociale, et Dave Stam de la John Howard Society of Hamilton, Burlington & Area (JHS). Nous avons appris les quatre premières leçons tirées de l’implantation du plan d’affaires qu’ils ont développé grâce au financement du module en Entreprise sociale d’Innoweave. La deuxième partie de cette conversation offre un éclairage sur quatre autres leçons pratiques: prendre le temps qu’il faut, choisir ses champions, aller chercher du soutien et persévérer. Pour en savoir plus...

  • Lake Ontario Waterkeeper

    "Lake Ontario Waterkeeper" a travaillé avec Innoweave pour déterminer quels types de revenus potentiels (et les plus réalistes) pourraient l'aider à financer son entreprise sociale "Swim Guide". Leur travail avec un mentor Innoweave leur a également permis d'identifier des partenaires potentiels et des opportunités clients qui pourraient être mieux exploités. Leur travail a aussi permis d'identifier les ressources nécessaires au lancement et au maintien d'un nouveau modèle d'affaires. Pour en savoir plus (En)...

Pour plus d'exemples d'entreprises sociales, visitez le site d'ENP à la page Social Enterprise Stories and Profiles.